

INTERNATIONAL ROGAINING FEDERATION Inc.

A0040409P

Newsletter No. 154

Box 3, Central Park, 3145 Australia www.rogaining.com December 2009

IRF Team

President: Neil Phillips

Promotions and Development: Alan Mansfield

Secretary/Treasurer: Rod Phillips Technical Manager: Lauri Leppik

World Rogaining Championships Manager: vacant

Members of IRF

Czech Republic: Miroslav Seidl, Jan Tojnar New Zealand: Alan Holdaway, Nick Collins

Canada: Murray Foubister

United States of America: Bob Reddick,

Eric Smith

Estonia: Andres Käär, Lauri Leppik

Latvia: Guntars Mankus

Russia: Sergey Yashchenko, Evgeny Dombrovskiy

Ukraine: Efim Shtempler

Members from Australia: Alan Mansfield, Rod Phillips,

Neil Phillips.

Observer status

Brazil: José Nilton Silva Vargas

Canada: Francis Falardeau, Allan Stradeski

Finland: Iiro Kakko Germany: Marko Rößler

Great Britain: Jeff Powell Davies

Hong Kong: Patrick Ng Ireland: Sean Hassett Israel: Dan Chissick Japan: Kazuhiro Takashima Norway: Ross Wakelin Poland: Magda Czapluk Russia: Syropyatov Valeriy

South Africa: Lisa De Speville, Pieter Mulder

Spain: Felip Gili Sweden: Bengt Nilsson Switzerland: Dieter Wolf USA: Barb Bryant 4th WRC: Pete Squires

6th WRC: Peg Davis, 9th WRC: Grant Hunter

New Zealand IRF Representatives

New Zealand is entitled to two representatives on the IRF. Alan Holdaway has been a member for some time. The New Zealand Rogaining Association has notified the IRF that their second delegate is Nick Collins. Nick is an active rogainer from Taranaki in the Central North Island and is taking a leading interest in rogaining both in his home region and nationally. This includes an interest in entry criteria for WRC. Welcome, Nick

Nick replaces Michael Wood who has been an observer on the IRF for many years. Michael has been a great supporter of rogaining and his contributions have been greatly appreciated.

Spain

Felip Gili

The 2nd Wild Boar Rogaine will be held on the 23th January 23, 2010 in L'Espluga Calba – Catalonia – Spain.

http://www.thewildboar.org

Rogaining in Hong Kong

Patrick Ng

There will be a 6 hour Rogaine in Hong Kong on 24 January 2010. ROGAINE 6, Sai Kung Country Park,

www.ayp.org.hk/rogaine6

Switzerland

There are plans for a Swiss 24 and 10 hour rogaine be in Davos on 27-28 August 2010 Dieter Wolf

2010 New Zealand Championships Sat-Sun, 17-18 April

World Rogaining Championships

1WRC: Beechworth, Victoria, Australia 1992 Co-ordinator: Jeff Hook 1st: Jim Russell, Mike Walters

2WRC: Mt Singleton, Western Australia 1996 Co-ordinator: Richards Matthews 1st: Jim Russell, David Rowlands

3WRC: Kamloops, Canada 1998 Co-ordinator: Murray Foubister 1st: Nigel Aylott, Iiro Kakko

4WRC: Waiau, New Zealand 2000 Co-ordinators: Stuart Payne, Peter Squires, Andy Buchanan, Dave Lawrie 1st: David Rowlands, Greg Barbour

5WRC: Lesna, Czech Republic 2002 Co-ordinator: Tomáš Prokeš 1st: David Rowlands, Greg Barbour

6WRC: Arizona, USA 2004 Co-ordinator: Peg Davis 1st: Mike Klosser, Michael Tobin

7WRC: Warrumbungle Range, Australia 2006 Co-ordinator: Alan Mansfield 1st: Chris Forne, Dennis De Monchy

8WRC: Karula, Estonia
2008 Co-ordinator: Lauri Leppik
1st: Evgeny Dombrovskiy, Pavel
Shestakov

9WRC: Cheviot, New Zealand, 2010 10WRC: Karlovy Vary, Czech Republic 2012

2010 Australian Championships Sat-Sun, 27-28 March

2010 Australian Rogaining The Championships will be held in the magnificent Snowy Mountains and hosted by the ACT Rogaining Association. The course will be set by national rogaining champions, David Baldwin and Julie Quinn, and will provide excellent navigational challenges in a beautiful environment.

The terrain will vary from alpine ash forests, through snow gum woodlands and granite boulder fields, to open plains. Autumn near Kosciuszko typically provides superb clear days with cool evenings. The Hash House will offer ideal camping and there is a caravan park and lodge accommodation within 5 minutes drive.

European Rogaining Championships

1ERC Perm Russia 2003

2ERC Nova Estonia 2005

3ERC Chernivtsi Ukraine 2006

4ERC Smiltene Latvia 2007

5ERC St Petersburg Russia 2008

6ERC Ylläs Finland 2009

7ERC Migovo Ukraine 2010